Prompted to confirm using Folx in browsers

When you download files using the Folx extension, a dialog will pop up prompting you to confirm the Folx launch. To avoid this, you can drag-and-drop magnet links and direct links to the Folx icon in the dock. Below are some tips available for different browsers.


Google Chrome

Google Chrome offers to remember the application, but only for specific websites using the secure protocol (https sites).

Check the “Always allow <URL> to open links of this type in the associated app” option in order the dialog will no longer pop up each time you download from this specific website.


If you want to completely remove this pop-up while downloading from URLs for any websites, do the following:

  • open Terminal.app and run the command:

    defaults write com.google.Chrome URLWhitelist -array ‘openinfolx3://*’

  • open the chrome://policy/page in Google Chrome and click the “Reload policies” button (or restart Google Chrome).


Since one of the Google Chrome settings has been changed using policy, the message “Your browser is managed by your organization” will appear in the Google Chrome settings.


Unfortunately, the dialog will still pop up when clicking on the magnet links.

If you decide to undo it, you need:

  • open Terminal.app and run the command:

    defaults delete com.google.Chrome URLWhitelist

  • open the chrome://policy/page in Google Chrome and click the “Reload policies” button (or restart Google Chrome). 


Opera

Opera offers to remember the application, but only for specific websites using the secure protocol (https sites).


Check the “Always allow <URL> to open links of this type in the associated app” option in order the dialog will no longer pop up each time you download from this specific website.


Firefox

When you click the URL to download the file, Firefox will show the dialog asking “What should Firefox do with this file?”.


When Firefox identifies the type of the downloaded file, the “Do this automatically for files like this from now on” checkbox will be enabled. If you check the box, the dialog will no longer pop up while downloading files of this type.


Click “OK”. Once done, a pop-up will appear prompting you to select an application. To disable this pop-up for the next downloads, choose Folx and check the “Always use this application to open magnet links” option.


If you use the Folx extension by right-clicking on the link and choosing the “Download with Folx” option, not by automatic catching, the “What should Firefox do with this file?” pop-up will not be displayed regardless of the file type.


For magnet links, Firefox sends individual requests. When you click on a magnet link for the first time, a pop-up will open on each specific website.


After you click the “Choose Application” button, a dialog will pop up prompting you to choose an application for opening magnet links.


Choose Folx and check the “Always use this application to open magnet links” option in order the “Choose an application to open the magnet link” pop-up will no longer display.

When you click on the magnet link on sites for which the “Always allow <URL> to open magnet links” option is not checked, the “Allow this site to open the magnet link” dialog will pop up. To disable this pop-up on any sites, do the following:

1) enter about:config in the Firefox address bar and press Enter;

2) press the “Accept the Risk and Continue” button;



3) enter “security.external_protocol_requires_permission” in the search bar in the opened window;


4) set this parameter to “false” by clicking on the “Toggle” button on the right.

Safari 

Safari does not allow catching download links automatically, since Apple has removed the option to implement this. The Folx extension works by right-clicking and choosing “Download with Folx”. Meanwhile, Safari does not send any additional confirmation dialog boxes.

When you click on the magnet link, Safari will show a pop-up prompting to open the application installed on the system as the default torrent client.


At the moment, Safari security settings do not allow disabling the pop-up.